Toy story and star wars themed birthday party

Who said you have to spend a lot to organize your kid’s birthday party?

Just check all the resources you have, check the dollar store for anything you need and be creative.

Our son wanted to have a Star Wars and Toy Story themed party so off I went.

I started making these 3 months prior to the event. Initially, he wanted a Toy story party then came the Star Wars movie marathon and decided he wants a Star Wars party too.

Ask why I’m doing this? 1st, building memories. At a young age, kids can remember all the fun memories they had so treasure it. 2nd, they won’t ask for big parties anymore when they’re teenagers. We won’t get to spend a lot of time with them when they move out to college so we want to treasure every moment we can have with them. 3rd, it’s not over the top since most of the stuff I used is either recycled or stuff that we already have. If we have bought anything, we make sure it will be re-used again.

The 1st thing I did was print all the characters from Toy Story. I printed banners. I made invitations.

image

Crafts I made:

image image image DSC_0082

I already made this burlap wreath. I used a glue gun and chenile stems to stick the Toy story print outs at the wreath.

Aliens bowling game from recycled pediasure bottles.

Potato head can toss from recycled soup cans.

image

I made the beanbags too.

Etch a sketch frames for the table. I got the frames from the dollar store.

image DSC_0074

 

 

The claw from a recycled box. We already had the grabber so I figured instead of having a piñata, the kids will be eager to play the games and when they win, they can get the prizes from “the claw” using the grabber.

image

Recycled boxes for the photo booth. Inspired by Toy Story 1.

I got these cute blank books at Target bullseye section. These books were 8pcs for $3. What a great deal. I was able to find Star Wars and Toy story activity pages on Pinterest. Printed, cut and glued on each page.

Food and juice labels:

image image IMG_1243 IMG_1244

I printed the food labels and attached it to 1/2 size red card stock paper. Folded it in 3 so it will stand by itself. Then I printed small etch a sketch signs on top and cut small circles for the bottom.

For the juice box labels, I found it on Pinterest. I will post it later.

For the background, I used a yellow and red table cloths. I cut it vertically from bottom to top leaving atleast 4 inches on top so it doesn’t rip all the way. I cut about 2 inches thick. Then I braided the top part to attach the 2 tablecloths.

image image image image

For the photo booth, I used a black table cloth for the Star Wars theme. For the Toy Story, I used a light blue table cloth. I printed a couple of Star Wars logo, white clouds and yellow stars from Andy’s room in Toy Story 1 and 3. I cut and stick it with masking tape. I also found some Toy Story photo booth props on Pinterest and printed it on white card stock paper.

image image image DSC_0073 DSC_0075 DSC_0076

Goody bags:

image

I bought plain neon green bags. Attached wobbly eyes and draw the mouth. I got some sheriff badges for the name tags.

image DSC_0065 image image

I made a Buzz light year pizza tray which the tutorial is posted in another blog on my website.

https://paintathomemom.wordpress.com/2016/03/21/buzz-light-year-pizza-tray/

IMG_1457

I made signs on a chalk board I made.

IMG_1453

I had Gabe’s guests to write him a birthday message on a table I painted with chalk paint. This will be nice to add in his birthday photobook.

IMG_1375 DSC_0090

I ordered his birthday cake from a local mom who makes amazing cakes. Her fb page is: http://www.facebook.com/izzylyssesweets

image

My sis-in-laws made some really cool cupcakes. I printed the Star Wars cupcake toppers (from Pinterest) on a white card stock paper and attached a straw. I also printed Hamm as a pirate and added some gold chocolate coins on top.

DSC_0080 DSC_0078 DSC_0126 DSC_0138

I’ve prepared a lot of activities but unfortunately, it rained so I had to make everything indoors. Some of the games wasn’t played but the kids and the birthday boy sure had a blast!

Here are some of the activities I prepared:

Pin the badge on Sheriff Woody

Potato Head can toss

Aliens from outer space bowling

Digg Hamm’s rainbow coins

Sheriff Woody’s lasso game

Bullseye horseshoe game

Shoot the light saber on the dark side.

water balloons

craft book

photo booths

bouncy

DSC_0293

Disclaimer: This is a personal post with all my crafts and DIY projects. I was not paid and not promoting any company. If you would are interested in purchasing any of my projects, please send me a message at: http://www.facebook.com/paintathomemom

 

 

Leave a Reply

